Inspirational Editorials: Coats at the Barbican

Coat by Elgee

I spent a month working at the Barbican last year, and fell in love with its strange beauty while I wandered around on my breaks. Sometimes these things need to grow on you, or for time to pass on past experiences; it is safe to say that I was never much of a fan during the seemingly endless trips to see the RSC there in my schooldays, nor when I went for a rather traumatic audition at Guildhall…

Amazing to see this glorious Petticoat spread, photographed at the Barbican when it was still a little Brutalist Baby in 1973.

Photographed by Richard Dunkley. Scanned by Miss Peelpants from Petticoat, October 1973

Coat by Shapes

Coat by Stirling Cooper

Coat by Sheraton

Coat by Wallis Shops

4 Comments on “Inspirational Editorials: Coats at the Barbican”

  1. Jeanne says:

    Judging by the state of fashion these days the coats here would not really look out of place today. Neither would the booties. I love the last swagger coat by Wallis 🙂

    • I know, I kept thinking how modern it felt. Which is just a bit wrong, really. Modern fashion should feel modern, vintage shoots should feel, well, vintage!

      I have a belted trenchcoat by Wallis in exactly the same fabric, so I guess that dates it for me… 😉

      • peekaaboo says:

        You’ve hit it on the nail Miss P. It does seem a bit wrong how vintage shoots can often look so contemporary. Which says a lot about creativity in fashion today I guess. There’s been nothing new under the sun since Punk & New Wave.
        Your belted checkered Wallis trenchcoat would not date you I’m sure. You’d probably be photographed for one of those look-of-the-day fashionista blogs 🙂

        Jeanne

  2. […] shops these days, I think the best places to get them are from online sellers such as Velvet Cave, Vintage A-peel and Victoria & Albert. They are the three best places to get clothes so I get them from there. […]


Leave a Reply

