Vintage Adverts: Don’t be vague

Scanned from The Sunday Times Magazine, June 1971

Personally, I need absolutely no encouragement…

8 Comments on “Vintage Adverts: Don’t be vague”

  1. Alejandra Garcia says:

    So 70’s! It reminded me those blondes of the beer’s ads. =)

  2. Mark says:

    My kind of ad! Dig the model 😉

  3. cammila says:

    LOVE IT. Am I being too crass and on-the-nose if I point out how delightful it is that she’s holding those highballs like a man’s balls? Oh well, TOO LATE!!! ;D

    • Wow, I feel like a total innocent convent girl for not noticing that. Of course now it’s obvious; I knew there was *something* about the image I loved (aside from her hair). It’s a good twist on the old ‘sex sells’ style of advertising, where they subtly imply female dominance whilst superficially appealing to the male viewer. I like it!

    • Mark says:

      Phew, thank God I thought it was just me and my lecherous brain!

  4. Tarkus says:

    if the Haig does not hurt it too would drink it for breakfast!

  5. Perdita says:

    WOW. Look at the size of those measures. Proper 70s, before ‘binge drinking’ became an issue rather than a lifestyle!


Leave a Reply

