Nobody Can Like McCann Can!

McCann by Bailey

Amongst the many new items I have just listed over at Vintage-a-Peel, is a superb piece by Gerald McCann. I have a huge fondness for McCann’s designs, and he was pretty easy on the eye as well.

Gerald McCann dress at Vintage-a-Peel. A snip at £85.

My own Gerald McCann dress was exhibited at the V&A in 2006 and remains one of my favourite pieces (although the size of my bum prevents me from wearing it, much like my beloved early Ossie Clark piece). I also have a beloved faux fur pea coat which has seen me through many a cold spell and pretty much goes with anything.

Similar coat scanned from Boutique by Marnie Fogg.

Thankfully he was also heavily featured in Marnie Fogg’s book Boutique, and the V&A hold an interview with him in their archives, so his place in the history books is somewhat more assured than many other ‘lost’ designers.

"The Young Individualist Thinks Nobody Can Like McCann Can".
McCann's designs in the window of Lord and Taylor in New York. Scanned from Boutique by Marnie Fogg.

My dress, beautifully photographed by the V&A

McCann designs illustrated. Scanned from Boutique by Marnie Fogg.

I was also delighted to find a rare bit of footage of the great man himself from 1967. It was a slightly convoluted journey to get there; an email from the lovely Miss Rayne got me searching for a certain Ann Ladbury, which then led to the BBC’s new Archive website. Turns out that Ann Ladbury was involved with a programme called Clothes That Count, and episodes from 1967 and 1969 were available to view. Each episode approached a different aspect of clothing, helping viewers to create their own versions at home, and each episode would have a guest designer. Lo and behold, who should have appeared in December 1967 but Gerald McCann!

I do hope that the BBC archives are viewable outside the UK, although I have my doubts, and that you can all follow this link and enjoy. Mr McCann first puts in an appearance at around 21:45, if you can’t be doing with all the home dressmaking malarkey early on…. I particularly love that he admits he can’t set a sleeve!

http://www.bbc.co.uk/archive/whatwewore/5602.shtml

Hang tag scanned from Boutique by Marnie Fogg.

3 Comments on “Nobody Can Like McCann Can!”

  1. These are fantastic. McCann is one of my favorites of the young British designers of the 60s. I have an adorable dress by him, that is very similar to the one on the far right in the Lord & Taylor window.

  2. christy says:

    The coat on the thisd picture is very nice. McCan is truly legend!

  3. Claire says:

    The clothes are good, but the art on that label is subliiiime.


Leave a Reply

