Petals in Poster Colours

Incredible clothes by Sally Tuffin, incredible photographs by Mr James Wedge; appealing to my interest in all things clown-ish. I love this photoshoot, even more because I have the blue cape on the picture above. Sadly, the pleats have somewhat fallen out (perhaps someone washed it?) and I have no idea how to put them back in again. Bums. Any advice welcomed…

Harpers and Queen, September 1972.

5 Comments on “Petals in Poster Colours”

  1. Winnie says:

    Oh my goodness, you have the pleated cape? Hope you manage to somehow get the pleats back into it, would be gorgeous!

  2. Sweet Jane says:

    Gorgeous ! Such a shame that the pleating has come out : (someone definitely washed it instead of leaving it into the dry cleaners, I did some french pleating on a garment that I made when I was in college,I did mine by hand,a bit too much detail to go into here, but the short version is you basically mark out the width of the pleats that you want on your paper pattern and use that as a template when ironing them back in. There are also companies that have various types of professional pleating services or failing that you could try maybe buying a pre-made pleater board,and there's lots of online help tutorials regarding how to use them, this is a link to one. http://www.wwwearables.com/techniques/pleater-board.htm Ps hope this helps a bit,be great to restore it to it's former glory, although i'm sure it's still beautiful as is ; )

  3. Miss Rayne says:

    LOVE sunray pleats, would totally go for the first outfit. A dry cleaners would re-press it for you, though they ususally HATE this type of pleats and charge accordingly.

  4. Gah. I don't like dry cleaners at the best of times but giving them more reason to be rude and pricey is something I want to avoid. But it might be the only way.Sweet Jane, thank you for the link! It's quite tempting to try and get hold of a pleater board – I'm sure it would come in useful if I could learn to use it. I can still see the lines where the pleats were, I think it's just going to be the laborious process of putting them back in. And how to they even stay put? xx

  5. WendyB says:

    Stunning! Thanks for sharing these.


Leave a Reply

