Pop Pop Pop

John Bates for Jean Varon crepe panelled dress

I have finally found a moment to blog about the Pop Art exhibition at The Lightbox in Woking, which is only open for a short while longer. The Lightbox is a tremendous space; airy and light, quiet and tranquil, and it has been transformed (briefly) into a repository of incredible Pop Art paintings, sculptures and….things. The ‘things’ are what I’m most interested in; as the exhibition draws you into the central space in the gallery, you are shown the influence of Pop Art on everything from clothes, to homewares, right down to the groceries you could buy from Sainsbury’s in the Sixties.

The fabulous Katherine Higgins has co-curated Pop Art, and very kindly got in touch with me about loaning some pieces. Well now, I can’t resist an exhibition and I can’t resist a good rummage in my personal collection and so I delivered four pieces (and a bonus extra which I just happened to have on me at the time). The fourth and final has only just been put on display this very day, and so I do hope you are able to go along to The Lightbox and have a look. It really is an incredible collection of works by some undeniably iconic British Pop artists; including Pauline Boty, Allen Jones, Peter Blake and, now rather poignantly, Richard Hamilton.

Mr Freedom halter neck skater outfit with hidden surprise...

Saucy! (I'm allowed to do this because it's mine, but you might get told off!)

Fulham Road Clothes Shop trousers with Zandra Rhodes lipstick print (please note the perfect pattern placement on the crotch)

Foale and Tuffin 'Chrysler' mini dress c.1966

Last minute addition: Original plastic lip sunglasses

There are some covetable clothes (as well as mine, of course), including the legendary Mr Freedom baseball suit, several Ritva sweaters, a superb Lloyd Johnson jacket and the most adorable novelty print Mr Freedom dungarees loaned by Jan De Villeneuve. Who, I’m afraid, has now been scuppered in her alphabetical superiority because of my earlier omission. Sorry Jan!

 

Pauline Boty

Richard Hamilton: 'Swingeing London'

Sweaters by Ritva

Jacket by Lloyd Johnson

Allen Jones

Grocery packaging

10 Comments on “Pop Pop Pop”

  1. Wow, I hope I can see this Liz. Your collection must be incredible xx

  2. Perdita says:

    Those are some amazing pieces; I love the lipstick trousers!The Lightbox is a great venue, I used to live in Woking and it has some fantastic spaces and creative hubs.

  3. Smashingbird says:

    Wow wow wow, this all looks super amazing! Your pieces look so fab, congrats! xx

  4. MyStyle says:

    Hi there!! Wow, your pieces are simply stunning and how wonderful they are part of the exhibition too, it all looks really awesome! xx

  5. Heartbeatoz says:

    Iv'e still got my Toot a loop Radio as in the first picture from my Teens loved it at the time and still do and it still works 🙂

  6. Oh wow how fab, Ive got serious trouser envy!

  7. […] showed off my beloved Fulham Road Clothes Shop trousers, by Sylvia Ayton and Zandra Rhodes, the other day. But I’ve been waiting to show you the original photograph I have from a copy of 19 Magazine, […]

  8. Jennie shellard says:

    I have found a pair if these trousers. Are they if any value? Also ossie Clark blue leather biker and ossie Clark black trouser suit with sequined pockets.


Leave a Reply

