You little beauty!

I’m very honoured to have been tagged in a top ten award by the gorgeous Smashingbird. I am supposed to tell you my top ten beauty products but, considering I only really use Lush these days, I fear it may be a little dull. I’m not even including shower gels in this list, because I alternate between Olive Branch, Grass and Flying Fox (depending on my mood or my location, since the latter two are my boyfriend’s at the moment…) Still, here goes…
1.) Karma perfume. It took me years to find ‘my’ perfume. I still love Anna Sui Sui Love, but it always disappeared after about half an hour and was never available as an eau de parfum. Then I fell in love with Lush and their Karma Kream (a delicious moisturiser). Turned out that Karma was also a proper perfume, and so finally I had found my perfect one. I don’t like conventional ‘girly’ smells. Flower scents make me feel queasy, always so synthetic and sickly. I liked the fruity smells of the Anna Sui, but it had no depth. I liked musks and patchouli, but they were always too one-note for me. Then I met Karma, and its combination of patchouli and orange was too perfect for me. I’m doubling this up with both Karma Kream and Karma Komba (the solid shampoo). The whole Karma range, basically!
2.) M.A.C Liquidlast eyeliner. Don’t get me wrong, nothing can beat Rimmel’s most basic liquid liner for sheer precision, but its lack of longevity was starting to get to me. Then I witnessed my friend Lisa rubbing her wonderfully liner-ed eyes furiously and yet they did not smudge. Was it magic, I asked? No, it was M.A.C and I decided to splurge (£14). It takes a while to master, especially if you’re used to the fine and smooth Rimmel, but was well worth it. It really does take quite a beating; you can pretty much rub or swim/cry to your heart’s content and it won’t shift. But will easily come off with a very gentle remover.

3.) Lush Jackie Oates colour supplement. Obviously, Lush couldn’t bear the thought that they didn’t have a foothold in my make-up bag as well, so they decided to introduce some foundations to their range. And Jackie Oates (which does, weirdly and amazingly, smell of oats) is the palest pale foundation I’ve ever found. I’ve never found such a perfect match for my skin before. It’s a little lighter in consistency than my old L’Oreal favourite, but you can build it up if you like – and it’s perfectly formulated for mixing with moisturiser.
4.) Beauty UK eyeshadow palette. I have two of these variations, and really do want them all. The colours are very pigmented (almost at the level of old Biba eyeshadows – which is wonderful to find, because the Bibas are hard to come by) and they last longer than more expensive ones I’ve tried. They’re such a bargain as well, you can afford some more expensive but subtle shadows with which to blend them. Or just go for full-on New Romantic/psychedelic extreme looks.
5.) Elnett hairspray. Speaks for itself. All others pale into comparison.
6.) Lush Buffy body scrub. No need for a moisturiser after your shower (so perfect for lazy mares like me!). Will leave you with the loveliest bum, and works nicely on that dry/bumpy upper arm problem area.
7.) Boots No. 7 Instant Radiance Concealer. £13.50. I used to use Touche Eclat, but with the advent of the Boots £5 voucher offers I decided to try the No. 7 version. Well, I now prefer it and it’s a good bit cheaper. Thanks Boots! Thoots…
8.) Tresemme conditioners. (Price varies) My hair is so temperamental, I have to change shampoos and conditioners on a regular basis. This said, I nearly always come back to Tresemme conditioners. I decant them into small-size Lush bottles because they’re always such huge bottles (which makes them value for money as well). They don’t smell OTT, they do the job without leaving residue and they’re usually on special offers in Boots or Superdrug too. Hurrah!
9.) Boots No.7 nail varnish. £7. Brilliant bold colours, fast drying times and longevity. Thanks to Boots’ frequent £5 voucher promotions, they’re also often dirt-cheap to buy. Current favourite is Speed Dry in ‘Siren’. Sexy vivid red, which doesn’t look cheap.
10.) Lush Dark Angels. Amazing cleanser, my favourite from the wide range at Lush. You do look rather like a coal miner when you’re using it, and you need to be careful to clear up the residue, but it’s perfect for my variable skin. I use it in combination with the most basic Simple moisturiser because I have a tendency towards break-outs; the Dark Angels deals with those and the moisturiser replenishes what Dark Angels takes out (without nasty perfumes etc).
I always hate trying to tag people, especially since most people have probably already been tagged, so feel free to take it and do it yourself! I’m always interested to hear new tips and recommendations…
8 Comments on “You little beauty!”

  1. Perdita says:

    I am not alone as a Beauty UK lover then! I used to splurge on Urban Decay but these last just as long and you get multiple colours for under a fiver- a total bargain must-have for any decade post 60s really.

  2. Frocktasia says:

    I LOVE the 'A-peeling item of the week' what a spectacular frock…YOWZA times a zillion!xXx

  3. Thanks so much for the pale Jackie Oates tip-off, as a fellow Porcelain doll..!Anna Sui's eyeshadow range are super pigmented & rival Biba shadows for sure xx

  4. Oooh, I might just have to do this. ;DThat eyeshadow box looks so pretty. I want one. But then I'm already awaiting the arrival of a MANLY 120 palette, so I'll be sensible and just make a note of it for next time.Have I told you that TRESemme's conditioner for colour/treated hair was reportedly used by george Harrison, he of the most gorgeous hair I have ever seen in my whole life? This was before it became a non-salon brand, so I've been using it a loooong time.I used to use Buffy in emergencies but I hated that I could feel the product rather than my own skin, so I make sure to be a good girl and buff properly these days. For emergency situations, coat yourself in Gilette shave gel, it's a miracle. That dry/bumpy upper arm problem area is caused by Hydrogenated Vegetable Oil stuck in your system and the only way to get rid is to avoid take-out food, be healthy with the cooking oils you use (virgin olive oil perhaps?) and drink lots of water. One of my pet hates about musicians on tour is that they get the bumpy effect from all the take-out food. I like my musicians to be smooth yet plushy. :)Love Touche Eclat, *hate* the dispenser it comes in. I can't exactly wash it after *every* application like I want to so I wash it each week and get grumpy that I daren't leave it to dry naturally like you're supposed to with make-up brushes because it'll dry the product out. One of these days I'm going to just cut all the damn bristles off.

  5. Ooh I like the sound of karma! I will have to try it out. I don't like overly 'girly' fragrances either. You might like Tom Ford's Black Orchid or White Patchouli, they are both a little bit different to the norm. I have the Black Orchid myself. And I also love the 70s fabulousness of Opium. xx

  6. Smashingbird says:

    Gotta love the boots £5 vouchers eh! I used to wear Anna Sui too, but you are right they do fade too quickly. The mac liner is sooo going on my wishlist. xx

  7. Lena says:

    Oh I had no idea Lush did all these amazing things. I'll have to go and investigate!

  8. ak says:

    Those Beauty UK shadows look like the Sleek eyeshadow palettes in Superdrug.


Leave a Reply

