Mensday: Rockangel Michael


I feel my spirit fly, only after dark
I kiss the world goodbye, only after dark
Nights with the city lights, only after dark

Run like the wonder way, only after dark

Won’t you disappear into midnight again
Why don’t you come, why won’t you come

Why won’t you fly, fly, fly with me
Sweet elusive fate will be our company

Ring out the vamp in me, only after dark
Moon sinful as can be, only after dark
It’s wrong to feel so free, only after dark
Only you do it to me, only after dark

Won’t you disappear into midnight again
Why don’t you come, why won’t you come
Why won’t you fly, fly, fly with me
Sweet elusive fate will be our company

Only After Dark by Mick Ronson

8 Comments on “Mensday: Rockangel Michael”

  1. Mondo says:

    A legend – what a star and an incredible player (and arranger). Have you heard his pre-Bowie debut work on Michael Chapman's Fully Qualified Survivor? It is the template for the early 70s Bowie-tone in all sorts of ways..Grab a listen on a sound-a-likes podcast

  2. Mondo says:

    One more – here . Recorded a year before Man Who Sold the World – but the basis for the album's sound. More Magpie eyeing from Bowie

  3. WendyB says:

    Sigh….I wish I had guys like this around me now!

  4. Smashingbird says:

    Thank you, thank you, thank you. This has just made my day a whole lot better. xxx

  5. Perdita says:

    Superb! Wonderful music, eccentric style/beauty and, as the youngsters say 'buff'- what more could a rockstar be?

  6. Ivy Black says:

    I love Mick Ronson so much! It was seeing him with Bowie singing Starman on Top of the Pops when I was a kid that did it!When my friend was being treated for terminal cancer, she stayed in the same clinic as him and said he was the loveliest man she'd ever met. xxx

  7. Tarkus says:

    Cool!I love his early works with the Rats and naturally the Spiders from mars!

  8. Love, love, love him. Of course. Great pictures! xx


Leave a Reply

