It ain’t no sin to take off your skin and dance around in your bones

One of my favourite spreads from Honey magazine, June 1965 and perfect inspiration for the weather we’re having here in Blighty. I’ve selected some of my personal highlights (because it doesn’t half go on…) which include two John Bates dresses, an amazing Dollyrockers (above, I love the detail with the missing button!! Makes me wonder if it fell off while the shoot was happening…) and I can’t help but adore the final image which is a superb example of the beloved ‘Butt Bow’ phenomenon. And what I would consider to be an ideal wedding outfit (please see previous blog about meringues…). Ahhhh, such bliss to live in the past. One day I hope I’ll be able to move there permanently…

As the copy in the magazine says, “No need to go that far but there’s nothing wrong with a calculated strip in the right places. And on the right occasions, of course.”

Photos by David Hurn

Dress by John Marks

Dress by John Bates for Jean Varon

Dress by John Bates for Jean Varon


Dress by Martha Hill

Trouser suit by California Cottons

4 Comments on “It ain’t no sin to take off your skin and dance around in your bones”

  1. Mondo says:

    Great scans and love the tune – I must try and pitch it into one of our future podcasts

  2. Perdita says:

    Love the butt-bow! Superb!

  3. Smashingbird says:

    Just gorgeous – I still don't have any copies of Honey!


Leave a Reply

