Vogue’s Christmas: Send in the Clowns

It’s oh so quiet…

…over here, isn’t it? I haven’t turned to ice, or been out enjoying the snow too much to blog. No, I’m back in the West End, with my latest one-woman show….. ahhh, just joking! I’m back at the ballet, dressing the newest version of The Nutcracker and the schedule is a bit punishing for all involved. So I’m grabbing moments when I can, to post out my wares and try to keep on top of things. But sadly, it means that I’m barely able to keep up with all you lovely bloggers and get half of the things done before Christmas that I needed and wanted to do. Argh! Anyway, to keep you going until I have time/energy to blog again, here is one of my all-time favourite Vogue shoots from December 1975. Beauty and grace personified…

Apologies to any coulrophobes out there!

By John Bates

By Gina Fratini

By Jorn Langberg

By Bill Gibb

By Thea Porter

By Zandra Rhodes

Main dress by Hanae Mori

By Nettie Vogues

Karl Lagerfeld for Chloe

Just to let you know, I can still post out before Christmas although I wouldn’t recommend relying too heavily on the postal service, given current weather issues and Christmas rush. But even if it doesn’t get there in time, remember, a vintage piece is not just for Christmas…

6 Comments on “Vogue’s Christmas: Send in the Clowns”

  1. MyStyle says:

    Hi there-sounds like you're having a fun but hectic time, lovely pictures and the Karl Lagerfeld for Chloe dress is divine!!

  2. The Thea Porter and Chloe are wonderful. I don't much like red nosed circus clowns, but pierrots are a different matter – they have such a great history as well as being so elegantly sad.

  3. Miss Rayne says:

    Love all the eye makeup and the Zandra Rhodes, wish I could wear a turban like that.

  4. I've never seen this before. I love it! Thank you for sharing. Hope you get a break soon xx

  5. MadamMucks says:

    Love the first picture of the ballet danicnign clowns… wow!

  6. TELMA GUEDES says:

    Beautiful images!!!!!I love it!


Leave a Reply

