Inspirational Images: Dolly girls

Yet another incidence of an average 1970s or 1980s-produced ‘History of Fashion’ book where the text is cliché-ridden and lousy, but then some amazing and rare images seem to make up for it, and then you try to find out who took the photo, when they took it and what it features, and fail dismally. Or AANONPHOFBWTTICRALBTSAARISTMUFIATYTTFOWTTPWTTIAWIFAFD as an acronym. Mmm….catchy!

Well this is clearly Sixties, probably around 1967, and appears to at least belong to someone called Michel Molinare (although I can’t be sure if he is the photographer). But I think it’s a beautiful shot, and very inspirational at a time when I’m definitely in need of it. Still working hard on the first big batch of Autumn/Winter pieces for Vintage-a-Peel, and just generally dealing with life. I hope you can all bear with me, and I would just like to thank you all very, very profusely for the lovely comments you’ve been leaving me lately. They really do cheer me up immeasurably, and spur me on, so thank you….

6 Comments on “Inspirational Images: Dolly girls”

  1. Yep, this is a lovely shot indeed. Hope all is well at Peel headquarters x

  2. I adore the shirred number, it's a stunner. The model is beautiful, what fabulous eyelashes. xxx

  3. Miss Rayne says:

    Lovely shot, I just hate those unattributed picture books too, do the editors think that no one cares?

  4. Daniel says:

    Oh, I hear you. I hear you. How I hear you. I've still got that photocopy of a 1950s fashion photo of my Digby Morton dress on my desk and have I been able to track down where it's from, let alone who took it? Have I, bugle-beaded bloomers. :(DMC

  5. Oh gorgeous make up, hair, clothes and angle of the shot.

  6. luxhedera says:

    You're welcome! So glad you keep bringing us so much inspiration and vintage material on such a regular basis. Good luck for the AW season!


Leave a Reply

