Why have they not invented…

 

…a time travelling post box yet? At one time, the otherwise-evil-Topshop were doing some brilliant loons which I’m probably on the verge of wearing out because of the poor quality of modern denim. I knew I should have bought four of each style. Now there’s hardly anything approaching a decent flare and we seem to be back to bloody low-rise ubiquity again. Sigh. I want to order from these 1972 adverts. I want the flares AND the tops. Why was I born too late? Why?

I’ve struggled a bit with buying originals over the internet, because they never seem to accommodate my rear (of which I’m quite proud, but it’s annoyingly disproportionate to my hips/waist/legs) and I can’t send them back with a note saying ‘I don’t have a Seventies-sized arse, apparently’. I’m also [awkwardly] a pint-sized person, but not ‘petite’ in the leg length department. Which leaves me either trailing or swinging.

What I need is a huge selection of originals or decent repros to choose from, in decent quality denim which doesn’t stretch out and bag. Sigh. Is it too much to ask?? Any recommendations from my dear readers, bearing in mind I refuse to fork out ridiculous designer-denim prices….? Any high street shops you’ve noticed? I thought wide legs and monster flares were meant to be ‘back’… if so, where the hell are they?

 

10 Comments on “Why have they not invented…”

  1. luxhedera says:

    I often ask myself the same question… I so wish I could order from the early 70's Sears catalogue 😦 The only acceptable flares I ever found were in Primark about last year. They're in an unusual light blue denim with yellow-orange seams. I hadn't seen anything like this since I was a kid, I just had to get them!

  2. smashingbird says:

    Have you tried monkee jeans? my fella got a pair and they are quite good, low rise tho, but dead tight on the thigh which I always think is good, they have jeans & cords. Also ASOS has Dittos on sale down to about £50. I always have a nightmare trying to get flares cos I have v short legs and you lose all shape on them when you take them up. Let us know how you get on!

  3. Bertie says:

    I know what you mean, I despise low rise – but thats all I can ever seem to find – jeans just arn't what they used to be!!

  4. Sarah says:

    The waist to hip proportion does seem to have changed drastically over the years. Although I am far from an hourglass, I find if jeans fit round my rear they gape at the waist. And if I pick my correct waist size, I can't possibly fit my rear into them. That's supposing I can find jeans with a waist at the 'correct' point anyway – meaning somewhere north of my hipbones. Another vote against those damn hipsters!

  5. your blog has so much great vintage stuff! i love the blog! thank you! check mine out and follow it if you get time. some vintage stuff and other randomness…www.ramblingforever.com

  6. Mangamax says:

    GREAT ADVERT. Do you mind if i borrow it and put it on my Blog about growing up in the 60's/70's?:http://a60s-70schildhood.blogspot.com/

  7. Try checking out MiH (Made in Heaven) jeans on ebay/shopstyle/etc. Yas wears them and they're mid-rise (so a slight improvement and have some hope of hanging on to a girl's frame rather than falling down or having a "muffin" effect). The kick flares are called "Marrakesh", they do proper loons inspiringly called "Loon" and some super button detailed wide leg one called "Valencia".I love the look of all these huge ankle jeans and trousers but the couple of pairs I own only see the light once in a blue moon. They just don't do a thing for a curvy figure at all. I'm best sticking to skinny jeans.

  8. Thank you all for all suggestions, I will investigate with great pleasure!Hipsters have their place, of course, but I just hate the ubiquity of them. Sometimes I want to tuck a shirt in, or wear a short Seventies jumper.Mangamax, of course you can!Senti, you look awesome in skinnies. No need to change, not that you would want to but it bears repeating. I can only do them tucked into my Seventies boots really…

  9. I have a copy of HONEY magazine that had the first advert. I used to buy the cheap clothes advertised in Honey and Petticoat. They were the only clothes I could afford as a 'junior' sales assistant!

  10. […] but this means that the form is still in tact (which is rather fabulous). Now where’s that time-travelling postbox I keep […]


Leave a Reply

